Samy’s Official Team

KUALA LUMPUR: MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu has named a 27-member “official team” for the 23 seats in the central working committee (CWC) in the party polls on Sept 12. Speaking to reporters after the nomination papers were filed at the MIC headquarters yesterday, Samy Vellu said the extra four names were to give delegates a wider choice.

The endorsed list include incumbents Datuk S.S. Rajagopal, Vimalah Nair, S. Murugesan, Ragu Moorthy, Logeswary @ Kajang Rani (Se-langor), Datuk R. Rajoo, Datuk K.R.A. Naidu and Datuk R. Ganesan (Perak), Datuk R. Raghavan (Malacca), Datuk V. Saravanan, Datuk T. Rajagopalu (Negri Sembilan), Datuk M. Daven-dran (Pahang), Datuk K. Rajapathy and Datuk P.K. Subbayah (Penang).

The newcomers include M.M. Samy, M. Asojan, Datuk Randhir Singh (Johor); Datuk K. Panchamoorthy (Federal Territory); S. Ananthan (Kedah); V.S. Mogan (Negri Sem-bilan); Datuk Jaspal Singh, K. Parthiban, A. Saktivel, P. Palaniappan, G. Jayakumaran, N. Ravisandaran, (Selangor) and A. Ganesan (Negri Sembilan). Samy Vellu said the candidates should not depend on him to canvass for votes.

Instead, they should tell the delegates of their achievements and service to the community and party, he said. He added this was the first time there were 11 vacancies in the CWC. On the remark by former deputy president Datuk S. Subramaniam that Samy Vellu was the fourth contender in the deputy president’s race, Samy Vellu said he had the right to campaign for any candidate. “Now he is talking because he is nobody. He enjoyed life in MIC for 33 years but did nothing for the community. That is the reason he was changed,” he said

source : http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/8/23/nation/4574290&sec=nation


August 23, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: